I’m not going to gripe about the 2009 Whitney, AML awards

Now that the 2009 Whitney Awards have been awarded, I was all set to do a detailed post-mortem on them and the 2009 AML Awards. A little compare and contrast. Some armchair psycho-social analyzing. A strong dose or two of obvious oversights. etc. etc. But as that analysis swirled in my head Saturday evening, I realized that I had no desire to do it. Not because I’m going soft (although that’s always a possibility), but for this one reason:

The AML gave the best novel award to Rift by Todd Robert Petersen. (Amazon)

The Whitney voters gave the best novel award to In the Company of Angels by David Farland. (Amazon)

That’s a pretty good year, and if those awards inspired just 10 people each to pick up one of those novels and read them, I’d be quite pleased. They are both thorougly Mormon; they are both thoroughly LDS; they are both challenging and affirming; they are both very well written; they are both by writers who deserve to be remembered decades from now (and awards like this always help with that kind of cultural memory). Well done, brothers and sisters. The bottom line is ya’ll came through in the categories that (in my opinion) matter the most. I’m not going to gripe or quibble about the rest. There’s always next year for that.

13 thoughts on “I’m not going to gripe about the 2009 Whitney, AML awards”

  1. William, is there a full list of the awards posted anywhere? (It’s not yet up on the Whitney Awards site, as far as I can tell.)

  2. The awards put both those books at the top of my To-Read list; I hadn’t even heard of “In the Company of Angels” until I read over the Whitney nominees (and decided if I read one book from the batch of nominees, it’d probably have to be that one), and while I’d heard “Rift” was good, I hadn’t heard much else until the AML awards. Still don’t know a lot about it, but it definitely sounds like my cup of tea.

    So, one down, nine to go.

  3. I wish there was a complete list of All the LDS-oriented awards somewhere. The Mormon Literature and Creative Arts Database only includes a handful of these awards (2 Whitneys each in 2007 and 2008 and nothing since, for example).

    So, how do we get a complete list?

  4. I can’t believe no one mentioned the embarrassing extra zero in the post title. It’s fixed now.

  5. Complete lists are found on the respective websites of the organizations giving the awards (although there are some gaps in the AML-awards, which Katya has been researching and filling in).

    My first question would be what awards are we talking about here?

    Off the top of my head:

    Whitney Awards
    AML Awards
    Pearl Awards
    LDS Film Festival Awards

    Then there are a host of writing contest awards — Irreantum, Sunstone, BYU Studies?, etc.

  6. You know, I’d forgotten all about the Mayhew Awards. Is there an year-by-year list somewhere?

  7. Lee, the 2009-2010 winners are currently listed here. I haven’t been able to find a full list of previous winners on the BYU site.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s