Winners of AML Awards Announced at Annual Meeting

The Association for Mormon Letters awards are made to writing, film, and drama published or produced during the previous year and are awarded during AML’s Annual Meeting, usually held in the late winter or early spring of each year. The winners of the 2007 awards are:

The Award for the Novel: On the Road to Heaven, by Coke Newell.  Honorable Mentions went to Before the Dawn by Dean Hughes and The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson.

Young Adult Novel: This Is What I Did by Ann Dee Ellis.  Honorable Mentions went to The Princess and the Hound by Mettie Ivie Harrison and Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians by Brandon Sanderson.

Short Fiction: “Clothing Esther,” by Lisa Torcasso Downing.  Honorable Mention went to “Light of the New Day” by Darrin Cozzens.

Criticism Award: People of Paradox by Terryl Givens.  

Film Award: The Mormons, produced and directed by Helen Whitney.

Drama Award: Facing East by Carol Lynn Pearson

Biography Award: An Advocate for Women: The Public Life of Emmeline B. Wells 1870-1920 by Carol Cornwall Madsen.

Special Award: Segullah, a literary journal for Mormon women.

A special criticism award (I think it was) went to BYU Studies Issue 46:2, 2007, Mormons and Film, edited by Gideon Burton and Randy Astle.  This issue focuses on Mormons and film.   

Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mormon Literature/Contribution to Mormon Literature: Mystery writer Anne Perry.

I might have missed a second Honorable Mention in the Short Fiction category as well as one or two other categories.  If anybody has information to fill in blanks I’ve left or clarify the titles of any awards, such as the one that went to BYU Studies, feel free to correct/contribute.

10 thoughts on “Winners of AML Awards Announced at Annual Meeting”

  1. Congratulations to all. Special kudos to Coke Newell for winning the 2007 Award for the Novel, which makes for a nice medal that Chris Bigelow can pin on Zarahemla Books’ chest as well.

  2. Yeah, I would have been very surprised if On the Road to Heaven hadn’t received the novel award. Very well-deserved in my opinion.

    I find it strange, though, that Sanderson received one. I mean, I really like the Well of Ascension, but I don’t see how it does much for the world of Mormon letters. If it was some amazing hit on the national scene, maybe. But it was just one of a very good corp of fantasy novels published last year.

    I find it odd that Todd Robert Petersen received no recognition for Long After Dark.

    Does anybody know where I can find “Clothing Esther”?

  3. “Clothing Esther” is in the December 2007 Sunstone.

    Re: Todd Petersen, oh my goodness me, I forgot to include the following information:

    The Marilyn Brown Award, which goes to an unpublished novel written by a Mormon and having one way or another Mormon overtones, went to Robert Todd Petersen for his novel Rift. Runner up went to Helen Holstein Hansen for her novel, Voices at the Crossroads.

  4. Question? I would assume that since Helen Whitney won an AML Award you don’t have to be a member to be considered as a possible recipient or has Helen been baptized?

    I know a few members of my ward that would be unhappy about this award but for me “right on” or as a Mormon would that be “right arm”.

  5. Larry:

    The AML takes the position that anything written by, for or about Mormons is of interest to the field. Quite a few non-members have won awards over the years.

  6. Thanks to all for your kind comments regarding On the Road to Heaven, and to the AML and its judges.

    My personal congrats, reiterated with gusto, to both Todd Peterson for his Marilyn Brown Award and to Chris Bigelow, our publisher and champion at Zarahemla Books (Todd’s award- winning book is slated for publication in August). Zarahemla may well be redefining what “Mormon literature” can and should be: of the people, by the people, for the people. (Haven’t I read that phrase somewhere else?)

  7. Hi Coke, thanks for dropping by AMV. I intended to shake your hand at the AML meeting but with one thing and another missed my chance. The news that Zarahemla will be publishing Peterson’s Rift (or however it will be titled) in August is good news! Thanks for the heads up.

  8. I’ll also add my kudos for On the Road to Heaven, for its own merit as much as for what it’s done in broadening the genre.

Comments are closed.